Everyone Starts Somewhere

Time flies when you are.. busy procrastinating.

I don’t know why I occasionally struggle with the thinking trap of ‘what I have to say isn’t interesting/important/entertaining enough to be blogged about’.
So many of the blogs I read are amazing ladies with posts full of travels and baking.. they are doing interesting things worth reading.

Worry takes control of my mind when it comes to what I want to write. Other blogs are so well written and full of funny stories and interesting facts and ventures. Who would want to read about the days of a Mississippi girl? One who works 8-5, goes home to her husband and whips together dinner, then prefers to watch tv or play a video game (or watch while hubby plays) to relax instead of filling that time with many productive things.

The same girl who strives everyday to make decent choices in food, struggling to remind herself what a normal portion size is, and include as much activity when possible. Most nights/weeks proclaiming "this is the time I will get up for an early workout" only to turn off the alarm when 5am comes. It can be tough at times… but carrying around extra weight that is not good for your body is tougher, mentally and physically.

Today I came across this quote:
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.–Theodore Roosevelt

Reading those words really struck a chord within my heart. I may not be traveling often or the world’s best amateur cook or baker, organized with every tool and ingredient possible. My blog may not be fully complete and appear professional…yet. Just because of these things doesn’t mean I shouldn’t strive to be the best I can be in the what I’m interested in. I am me. That is something no one else can be! I enjoy cooking for my husband and would like to feel more comfortable cooking for others. My hope is to expand my cooking and baking repertoire so that I will gain the confidence in presenting yummy goodies for family and others. Sharing these adventures and everyday happenings is my goal.

Let’s get to work!

Delicious Wishes!
Christina

3 thoughts on “Everyone Starts Somewhere

  1. “Who would want to read about the days of a Mississippi girl? One who works 8-5, goes home to her husband and whips together dinner, then prefers to watch tv or play a video game (or watch while hubby plays).”

    Okay, that sounds like my life to a “T.” I don’t lead some glamorous, uber-productive life. I’ve been blogging for 2 1/2 years and I’ve discovered that the recipes have a remarkable way of telling the story for you. Write about what you know.

Leave a Reply

